How I Became an RN with NO STUDENT DEBT: My Journey into Nursing

On average, a baccalaureate degree student accumulates $30,000 in debt and student debt is the second highest source of American debt, following mortgages (educationdata.org). The fear of debt, coupled with lack of motivation and other life endeavors makes it so difficult to obtain higher levels of education and more rewarding careers. Once one makes it into school, they are likely forced to quit their current job or severely restrict working hours to make time for the necessary studies, further accruing more financial strain.

I was very fortunate to have great advisors as I was finishing High School. I had a 4.0 GPA and was able to apply for and obtain many state grants. I was in the second round of students to receive the Tennessee Promise, which pays for 2 years of community college after receiving state funding. After receiving this information, I knew about a 2 year RN program at the local community college. It was a very intense 4-5 day program that allowed students to earn an Associates Degree in Nursing and become a Registered Nurse. With such a rigorous program, students could not work many hours. I was lucky to be able to continue to live with my parents and I did not have a family at the time, so this route was perfect for me.

I was accepted into the program shortly after graduating High School. Fast forward to February 2018 and I was a licensed RN working on a Medical-Surgical Unit.

The hospital also has a tuition reimbursement program with a 2 year post contract that I used to support my online 1 year Bachelor’s degree program. Within 3 years, I was a BSN- RN with no debt and happily working on a Med-Surg unit, while my High School friends were just then graduating and finding professional jobs.

It is worth the time and effort to research scholarships, find affordable and practical schools, and investigate the resources your workplace has available to you.

Until next shift,

Shania

Leave a comment